Les États généraux du film documentaire 2021 Fragment of a filmmaker’s work: Arthur & Corinne Cantrill

Fragment of a filmmaker’s work: Arthur & Corinne Cantrill


Arthur and Corinne Cantrill (both born in Sydney in 1938 and 1928 respectively) have made over a hundred films since 1960. Their work covers different forms and genres: documentary, experimental cinema, expanded cinema, performance. They were also responsible for Cantrills Filmnotes, from 1971 to 2000, an independent publication devoted to experimental film, video, installation, sound and performance art, but above all they have been the linchpin of experimental and non-commercial cinema in Australia: a model for several generations of filmmakers. Their films are both a rigorous examination of the nature of film and an organic study of the forms of the Australian landscape. By exploring the formal possibilities of re-filming and of the colour separation of photochemical emulsion, the Cantrills have created unique views of the world, conceived as a millefeuille of visible/audible strata to be traversed with the camera and re-traversed with photochemical work. The question of perception and the cinematic translation of sensitive experience, and the attempt to match the forms of nature to filmic forms, led them to invent craft procedures and experimental practices of the medium. A work of organic research and exploration of the sensitive world among the most significant in the history of experimental documentary.
Federico Rossin

AUSTRALIA
“They have coined a term for one aspect of their art which seems to me to speak for all of it: landforms/filmforms. It is a perfect juxtaposition of the transparent and the materialist, the representational and the abstract, and it occurs as a hinge and not a bolted duality, again and again in their work. Such epiphanies of modernism underpin their engagement with ‘place’. They film what matters to them, and they continue to film because film matters to them. Of such matter-of-fact, a complex of use and meaning. The Cantrills’ ‘Australia’ (the most demanding vision of this place that I’ve encountered) is not a narrative fiction with the great interior (or mountain, river, forest, or coast) as picturesque backcloth. It’s not a narrative at all except as the story of the artists’ meticulous examination of their own processes. Rather it is a rite of passage; and explicit reorientation of the European conquistador/settler optic. Such an attention to self and place I call ‘being here’. The knowledge of that attention is heretical in this destruction/production economy.”
Kris Hemensley

FILM
“What the Cantrills have achieved throughout their careers as filmmakers, through persistently questioning and exploring the medium of film, is a pursuit of the essence of the filmic experience. They have identified film as a mutable art form, one in which nothing has to be what it seems. They manipulate light and transform film stock so that they can look at familiar objects and perceive them in ways which can reveal texture, shapes, light and movement and elucidate new meanings. The three-colour studies can be seen as a dissection of the elements of film images. This is a process of discovering images. The visual concept behind a film constitutes its entire content. The Cantrills found that, by using a three-colour separation process, they achieved startlingly realistic colour, superior to ordinary tri-pack film stocks, with unreal displacements of colour occurring where there was movement in the frame.”
Michael Koller

INDEPENDENCE
“In accordance with their desire to make films which ‘present a surface so clean, so hard, that it defies the dissector’s blade’, the Cantrills themselves have tended to describe their own films in terms of the production process, rather than offer keys to analysis. They are uncompromising, and although they actually share many values in common with leftist social groups – for example, opposition to war, corporate capitalism, uranium mining and destruction of the natural environment – they have refused to be co-opted, have refused the comforts and dangers of solidarity. They have further alienated Australian audiences by their refusal to make either fictional narratives or social-issue documentaries – the mainstays of independent as well as mainstream film production in this country. In their methods of production – working alone with cast or crew; in their methods of distribution and exhibition – personally accompanying and introducing their products in selected intimate venues; and in the types of films they make – re-processed footage of stark uninhabited landscapes, singing kettles, video and photographic images; the Cantrills have been more truly independent than any other filmmakers working in Australia.”
Freda Freiberg

SEE AGAIN
“The elements of the energies are observed by the Cantrills and those that are inanimate – rock, leaves, horizons – are animated by the camera, and assembled and shaped for the viewer so that he too can experience them. Through these methods of technical manipulation of film, new landscapes are created from the familiar, making it impossible for the responsive viewer to see the old landscape in quite the same way again. The idea of seeing again is central to the Cantrills’ work, reconstructing one’s order and focus of vision.”
Andrew Pike

TRANSFORMATION
“The Cantrills are intent on heightening the genesis of our everyday experiences. Like hyper-realist painters, they aim for the gestalt of the visual image and, once isolated, transform it into a fierce and condensed reflection of its former state. Uluru provides a perfect subject for this transformation. Regarded by European culture as a national resource, ‘Ayers Rock’ represents the quintessential picture postcard. Its dominant outline in the vast Central Desert, invariably photographed with all the sensitivity of a car advertisement, has become an archetypal image for the international and domestic tourist industries. The Second Journey is not so much a transcendence of this as a simple quest to visually and aurally commune with the remnants of an ancient people and a vastly more ancient monolith. Uluru radiates a mythical energy in its botanic, geological and animal life. The Cantrills have restored at least some of the respect and integrity echoed in its Aboriginal name.”
Rod Bishop

UNITY
“Given the combination of romanticism and materialism which structures the Cantrills’ work, one would expect to find within their films a set of irreconcilable textual differences and oppositions. But rather one finds a work directed towards a unity, a homogeneity, a formal synthesis, the conjoining of signifier and signified in mutual significatory support.”
Rolando Caputo

THE SECOND JOURNEY (TO ULURU)
“The film is subtitled ‘The Practice of Filmmaking’.
This film represents fourteen days of observation – recorded in the mornings, late afternoons and evenings – of Uluru (Ayers Rock). The monolith is located in the vast desert environment, but the film also focuses on its detail – the caves, the animal life, the flora, the traces of Aboriginal culture. This study of details and exploration of textures affects the sense of scale – the monolith appears at once larger and smaller. Our earlier film At Uluru, filmed two years previously, is basically a middle-distance film. It was made in a spirit of optimism and euphoria occasioned by this most wonderful of places at a time of unusual natural abundance. The Second Journey, filmed after the area had been badly burnt out, approaches the place with a burden of pessimism. We knew more about Aboriginal claims to Uluru and the large-scale commercial developments planned for it which would fundamentally change the nature of the place.
The film is structured around the daily filmmaking practice we adopted:
The preoccupations of the early morning. Seven early morning time-lapse sequences of sunrises over the monolith, filmed at some distance from it.
The work of mid-morning. We move closer to Uluru, towards Lagari, right up and into the Lagari cave. In other sequences we trace the north-eastern face of Uluru; the camera slides over the scaly ‘skin’ of the rock, moving in and out of shadowy hollows.
The activities at the height of day. As the heat becomes unbearable we withdraw into some of the many caves of Uluru; some geologically monstrous, others delicate, like frozen wave forms, still others endowed with Aboriginal drawings.
The occupations of late afternoon. We move away from the caves, through the trees at the base of Uluru to the open plain and sandhills for a series of evening sequences. The warm colours of late afternoon light combine with the rusty, ferrous oxide tones of the rock.
Early evening. The film ends with a series of moonrises over Uluru, inviting a consideration of the distant lunar rock and craters in juxtaposition with the monolith – both formed from basically the same materials.
The sound for the film is derived from complex equalized mixes of bird calls and insect effects recorded in the caves at Uluru.”
Arthur and Corinne Cantrill (from “Mid-Stream” exhibition catalogue supplement)


Screenings hosted by Federico Rossin.

Les États généraux du film documentaire 2021 Fragment d’une oeuvre : Arthur & Corinne Cantrill

Fragment d’une oeuvre : Arthur & Corinne Cantrill


Arthur et Corinne Cantrill (tous deux nés à Sydney, respectivement en 1938 et 1928) ont réalisé plus de cent films depuis 1960. Leur travail couvre différents genres et formes : documentaire, cinéma expérimental, cinéma élargi, performance. Ils ont également été responsables de Cantrills Filmnotes, de 1971 à 2000, une publication indépendante consacrée aux films expérimentaux, à la vidéo, à l’installation, au son et à la performance, mais ils ont surtout été le pivot du cinéma expérimental et non commercial en Australie : un modèle pour plusieurs générations de cinéastes. Leurs films constituent à la fois un examen rigoureux de la nature de la pellicule et une étude organique des formes du paysage australien. En explorant les possibilités formelles du refilmage et de la séparation des couleurs de l’émulsion photochimique, les Cantrill ont créé des vues uniques du monde, conçues comme un millefeuille de strates du visible/audible à traverser avec la caméra et retraverser avec le travail photochimique. La question de la perception et de la traduction cinématographique de l’expérience sensible, et la tentative de faire correspondre les formes de la nature aux formes filmiques les ont amenés à inventer des procédures artisanales et des pratiques expérimentales du médium. Un travail de recherche organique et d’exploration du monde sensible parmi les plus significatifs de l’histoire du documentaire expérimental.
Federico Rossin

AUSTRALIE
« Ils ont inventé un terme pour décrire un aspect de leur art qui me semble s’appliquer à l’ensemble de celui-ci : landforms/filmforms. C’est la juxtaposition parfaite de la transparence et de la matérialité, de la représentation et de l’abstraction, qui se présente continûment dans leur travail comme une charnière et non comme une dualité boulonnée. De telles épiphanies du modernisme sous-tendent leur engagement envers le « lieu ». Ils filment ce qui leur importe, et ils continuent à filmer parce que le cinéma leur importe. D’une telle approche découle un complexe d’utilité et de signification. L’“Australie” des Cantrill (la vision la plus exigeante de ce lieu que j’aie rencontrée) n’est pas une fiction narrative prenant les grandioses territoires intérieurs (ou la montagne, la rivière, la forêt, ou la côte) comme toile de fond pittoresque. Ce n’est d’ailleurs pas une histoire du tout, si ce n’est celle de l’examen méticuleux par les artistes de leurs propres processus. Il s’agit plutôt d’un rite de passage et d’une réorientation explicite de l’optique européenne du conquistador et du colon. Cette attention à soi et au lieu, je l’appelle “être ici”. La connaissance d’une telle attention est hérétique dans une économie fondée sur la destruction/production. »
Kris Hemensley

FILM
« Ce que les Cantrill ont réalisé tout au long de leur carrière de cinéastes, en remettant constamment en question le médium film et en l’explorant, c’est une quête de l’essence de l’expérience cinématographique. Ils ont défini le cinéma comme une forme d’art mutable, dans laquelle rien n’est nécessairement ce que cela semble être. Ils manipulent la lumière et transforment la pellicule afin de pouvoir regarder des objets familiers et les percevoir d’une manière qui révèle la texture, les formes, la lumière et le mouvement, et qui élucide de nouvelles significations. Les études en trois couleurs peuvent être considérées comme une dissection des éléments des images de cinéma. Il s’agit d’un processus de découverte des images. Le concept visuel qui règle chaque film constitue l’ensemble de son contenu. Les Cantrill ont constaté qu’en utilisant un procédé de séparation en trois couleurs, ils obtenaient des couleurs d’un réalisme saisissant, supérieur à celui des pellicules triples ordinaires, avec des déplacements irréels de la couleur en cas de mouvement dans le cadre. »
Michael Koller

INDEPENDANCE
« Conformément à leur désir de faire des films qui “présentent une surface si propre, si dure, qu’elle défie la lame du dissecteur”, les Cantrill ont eu tendance à décrire leurs films en termes de processus de production, plutôt que de proposer des clés d’analyse. Ils sont intransigeants, et bien qu’ils partagent de nombreuses valeurs avec des groupes sociaux de gauche – par exemple, l’opposition à la guerre, au capitalisme d’entreprise, à l’extraction d’uranium et à la destruction de l’environnement naturel – ils ont refusé d’être cooptés, ont rejeté le confort et les dangers de la solidarité. Ils sont par ailleurs restés à distance du public australien en refusant de réaliser des récits de fiction ou des documentaires sur des questions sociales, qui sont les piliers de la production cinématographique indépendante et grand public dans ce pays. Dans leurs méthodes de production – travailler seuls avec les acteurs ou l’équipe –, dans leurs méthodes de distribution et de diffusion – accompagner et présenter personnellement leurs œuvres dans des lieux intimistes choisis – et dans les types de films qu’ils réalisent – des séquences re-traitées de paysages austères et inhabités, des bouilloires chantantes, des images vidéo et photographiques – les Cantrill ont été plus véritablement indépendants que tout autre cinéaste travaillant en Australie. »
Freda Freiberg

VOIR À NOUVEAU
« Les éléments des énergies sont observés par les Cantrill et ceux qui sont inanimés – rochers, feuilles, horizons – sont animés par la caméra, assemblés et façonnés pour le spectateur afin qu’il puisse lui aussi en faire l’expérience. Grâce à ces méthodes de manipulation technique de la pellicule, de nouveaux paysages sont créés à partir de ce qui est familier, rendant impossible pour le spectateur réceptif de revoir l’ancien paysage de la même manière. L’idée de revoir, de reconstruire l’ordre et la focalisation de la vision est au cœur de l’œuvre des Cantrill. »
Andrew Pike

TRANSFORMATION
« Les Cantrill cherchent à exacerber la genèse de nos expériences quotidiennes. Comme les peintres hyperréalistes, ils visent la gestalt de l’image visuelle et, une fois isolée, la transforment en un reflet féroce et condensé de son état antérieur. Uluru constitue un sujet parfait pour cette transformation. Considéré par la culture européenne comme une ressource nationale, « Ayers Rock » représente la quintessence de la carte postale. Sa silhouette dominant le vaste désert central, invariablement photographiée avec toute la sensibilité d’une publicité pour voiture, est devenue une image archétypale pour les industries touristiques internationales et nationales. The Second Journey n’est pas tant une transcendance de cette image qu’une simple quête de communion visuelle et auditive avec les vestiges d’un peuple ancien et d’un monolithe beaucoup plus ancien encore. Uluru dégage une énergie mythique dans sa vie botanique, géologique et animale. Les Cantrill ont restauré au moins en partie le respect et l’intégrité auxquels fait écho son nom aborigène. »
Rod Bishop

UNITÉ
« Étant donné la combinaison de romantisme et de matérialisme qui structure l’œuvre des Cantrill, on pourrait s’attendre à trouver dans leurs films un ensemble de différences et d’oppositions textuelles irréconciliables. Mais on découvre plutôt un travail orienté vers une unité, une homogénéité, une synthèse formelle, la conjonction du signifiant et du signifié, l’un et l’autre s’apportant un soutien significatif mutuel. »
Rolando Caputo

THE SECOND JOURNEY (TO ULURU)
« Le film est sous-titré “The Practice of Filmmaking”.
Ce film représente quatorze jours d’observation – enregistrés le matin, en fin d’après-midi et le soir – d’Uluru (Ayers Rock). Le monolithe est situé dans un vaste environnement désertique, mais le film se concentre également sur ses détails – les grottes, la vie animale, la flore, les traces de la culture aborigène. Cette étude des détails et cette exploration des textures influent sur le sens de l’échelle – le monolithe semble à la fois plus grand et plus petit. Notre film précédent, At Uluru, tourné deux ans auparavant, est essentiellement un film de moyenne distance. Il a été réalisé dans un esprit d’optimisme et d’euphorie suscité par ce lieu des plus merveilleux à une époque d’abondance naturelle inhabituelle. The Second Journey, filmé après que la région a été gravement brûlée, aborde le lieu avec un certain pessimisme. Nous en savions plus sur les revendications aborigènes concernant Uluru et sur les développements commerciaux à grande échelle prévus pour ce site, qui allaient fondamentalement changer la nature de l’endroit.
Le film est structuré autour de la pratique cinématographique quotidienne que nous avons adoptée :
Les préoccupations du petit matin. Sept séquences en time-lapse de levers de soleil sur le monolithe, filmées à une certaine distance de celui-ci.
Le travail du milieu de la matinée. Nous nous rapprochons d’Uluru, vers Lagari, jusqu’à la grotte de Lagari. Dans d’autres séquences, nous suivons la face nord-est d’Uluru ; la caméra glisse sur la « peau » écailleuse de la roche, entrant et sortant des creux ombragés.
Les activités au plus fort de la journée. Lorsque la chaleur devient insupportable, nous nous retirons dans quelques-unes des nombreuses grottes d’Uluru, certaines géologiquement monstrueuses, d’autres délicates, ayant la forme de vagues gelées, d’autres encore dotées de dessins aborigènes.
Les occupations de la fin d’après-midi. Nous nous éloignons des grottes, traversons les arbres au pied d’Uluru pour rejoindre la plaine ouverte et les dunes de sable pour une série de séquences en soirée. Les couleurs chaudes de la lumière de fin d’après-midi se combinent aux tons de la roche – rouille et oxyde ferreux.
Début de soirée. Le film se termine par une série de levers de lune au-dessus d’Uluru, invitant à considérer la roche et les cratères lunaires lointains en juxtaposition avec le monolithe – tous deux se sont formés à partir des mêmes matériaux.
Le son du film est dérivé du mixage de mélanges complexes de cris d’oiseaux et d’effets d’insectes enregistrés dans les grottes d’Uluru. »
Arthur et Corinne Cantrill (extrait du supplément au catalogue de l’exposition « Mid-Stream »)


Séances animées par Federico Rossin.